don’t believe the hype


Proposition 8, Hypocrisy, and You! by mchoy
November 7, 2008, 6:31 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

OH My GOd double whammy. Two posts in one day. I’m BACK…

Haha, not really. I was originally going to comment on someone’s status about how ridiculous their statement against prop 8 was, but then it got long so I decided to just write a full on note.

But why just leave it on facebook,when I could share my, perhaps horribly misguided juvenile thoughts with the world!

…. And Here. We. Go.

Hey! Suddenly politically charged young electorate! Aren’t you SO outraged at the passage of Prop 8?

You know what you should do? Write your congressman, Write your councilman. Join any one of the many LGBT alliance groups. Maybe you could even get involved with a group fighting for the rights of Gay Californians like the ACLU.

Oh wait, scratch that, you’re not going to do all that, huh? Well I’m sure you sitting there proclaiming to the world, or at least all your friends reading your status, your own disappointment at the “failure” and “intolerance” of Californian voters is good enough.

Or MAYBE, you can take it to the next level. how about you REALLY effect social change and write a facebook note laying out and usually way oversimplifying the complex moral and political issue that is Gay marriage in American society.

Yeah that sounds much better.

Let me be honest with you. I could care less about Prop 8 and I didn’t vote on it either. I am not going to sit here and pretend to know the social implications of the passage of Prop 8 or the subsequent fight it is going to face in the Legal and legislative system

What I do know is that, when I raise my children, I am going to tell them that God recognizes marriage as between a man and a women and only between a man and a women. But I also don’t dare force my own beliefs on others in the form of law.

What gives me a little bit of solace is that, in a couple months all this will die down. You will go back to your own apathetic life, come in from that impromptu rally in the street hyping some sort of abstract change that is supposedly going to magically make all our lives better, and forget all about the cause of gay rights that has been going on for the last few decades that you suddenly took up on Facebook in an attempt to look forward thinking, liberal, or intelligent.

You’ll realize, oh yeah, this doesn’t actually affect me, I don’t actually give a damn about gay rights as long as my own kid isn’t gay, and you’ll see it was just another passing fad, like beanie babies, the atkins diet, the rubicks cube, and voting democrat.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

